Catalog Navigation

Stanford Academic Calendar, 2016-17

Legal-size Printable CalendarLetter-size Printable CalendarThis calendar is also available at the University Registrar's web site.

  • The University bill is issued on the 20th of each month. Billed charges are due by the 15th of the following month. For more information, see the Student Financial Services site.
  • See the R&DE Student Housing site for additional information on Housing deadlines. Key undergraduate dates are included below.

Issued April 1, 2016. All dates are subject to change at the discretion of the University.

Autumn Quarter 2016-17

August 1 (Mon) Axess opens for course enrollment. Stanford Bulletin opens with AY 2016-17 degree requirements

August 29 (Mon) M.D. first-year students, first day of instruction.

September 1 (Thu) M.D. second-year students, first day of instruction.

September 6 (Tue) Law School instruction begins for 1st-year J.D. students.

September 16 (Fri) M.B.A. 1st-year instructions begins

September 16 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) At-status enrollment deadline in order to receive stipend or financial aid refund within the first week of term.

September 20 (Tue) New undergraduates arrive. Convocation. Undergraduate housing opens for new students; see Residential & Dining Enterprises Calendar.

September 22 (Thu) Undergraduate housing opens for returning students; see Residential & Dining Enterprises Calendar.

September 26 (Mon) First day of quarter; instruction begins.

September 26 (Mon, 5:00 p.m.)Preliminary Study List deadline.Students must be "at status"; i.e., students must have a study list with sufficient units to meet requirements for their status, whether full-time, 8-9-10 units (graduate students only), or approved Undergraduate Special Registration Status or Graduate Special Registration Status. The late study list fee is $200.

September 26 (Mon, 5:00 p.m.) Deadline to submit Leave of Absence for full refund (see undergraduate leaves of absence and graduate leaves of absence). See Tuition and Refund Schedule 2016-17 for a full refund schedule.

September 26 (Mon) Law School instruction begins for 2nd/3rd-year J.D. and advanced degree students. See the full Stanford Law School academic calendar.

September 29 (Thu) Conferral of degrees, Summer Quarter 2015-16.

September 30 (Fri) GSB course add/drop deadline

October 12 (Wed) Yom Kippur (classes held: some students will be observing Yom Kippur and are not expected to attend classes; some faculty will not be holding classes).

October 14 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Final Study List deadline, except GSB. Last day to add or drop a class; last day to adjust units on a variable-unit course. Last day for tuition reassessment for dropped courses or units. Students may withdraw from a course until the Course Withdrawal deadline and a 'W' notation will appear on the transcript.

November 7 (Mon, 5:00 p.m.) Term withdrawal deadline; last day to submit Leave of Absence to withdraw from the University with a partial refund.

November 18 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Change of grading basis deadline, except GSB.

November 18 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Course withdrawal deadline, except GSB, Law, and M.D.

November 18 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Application deadline for Autumn Quarter degree conferral.

November 21-25 (Mon-Fri) Thanksgiving Recess (no classes).

December 2 (Fri) Last day of Law classes. See the full Stanford Law School academic calendar.

December 5-11 (Mon-Sun) End-Quarter Period.

December 6-14 (Tue-Wed) Law School examinations. See the full Stanford Law School academic calendar.

December 9 (Fri) Last day of classes (unless class meets on Sat.)

December 9 (Fri) Last opportunity to arrange Incomplete in a course, at last class.

December 9 (Fri, noon) University thesis, D.M.A. final project, or Ph.D. dissertation, last day to submit.

December 9 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Late application deadline for Autumn Quarter degree conferral ($50 fee).

December 12-16 (Mon-Fri) End-Quarter examinations.

December 17 (Sat, noon) Undergraduate housing closes for Winter Break; see Residential & Dining Enterprises Calendar.

December 20 (Tue, 11:59 p.m.) Grades due.

January 12 (Thu) Conferral of degrees, Autumn Quarter.

Winter Quarter 2016-17

October 30 (Sun) Axess opens for course enrollment.

December 30 (Fri)At-status enrollment deadline in order to receive stipend or financial aid refund within the first week of term.

January 7 (Sat, 8:00 a.m.)Undergraduate housing opens for Winter Quarter; see Residential & Dining Enterprises Calendar.

January 9 (Mon)First day of quarter; instruction begins for all students.

January 9 (Mon, 5:00 p.m.)Preliminary Study List deadline.Students must be "at status"; i.e., students must have a study list with sufficient units to meet requirements for their status, whether full-time, 8-9-10 units (graduate students only), or approved Undergraduate Special Registration Status or Graduate Special Registration Status. The late study list fee is $200.

January 9 (Mon, 5:00 p.m.)Deadline to submit Leave of Absence for full refund (see undergraduate leaves of absence and graduate leaves of absence). See Tuition and Refund Schedule 2015-16 for a full refund schedule.

January 13 (Fri) GSB course add/drop deadline

January 16 (Mon) Martin Luther King, Jr., Day (holiday, no classes).

January 27 Fri (5:00 p.m.) Final Study List deadline, except GSB. Final day to add or drop a class; last day to adjust units on a variable-unit course. Last day for tuition reassessment for dropped courses or units. Students may withdraw from a course until the Course Withdrawal deadline and a 'W' notation will appear on the transcript.

February 20 (Mon)Presidents' Day (holiday, no classes; Law does hold classes).

February 22 (Wed, 5:00 p.m.)Term withdrawal deadline; last day to submit Leave of Absence to withdraw from the University with a partial refund.

March 3 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.)Change of grading basis deadline, except GSB.

March 3 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.)Course withdrawal deadline, except GSB, Law, and M.D.

March 3 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.)Application deadline for Winter Quarter degree conferral.

March 13 (Mon) Last day of Law classes. See the full Stanford Law School academic calendar.

March 13-19 (Mon-Sun)End-Quarter Period.

March 17 (Fri)Last day of classes (unless class meets on Sat.)

March 17 (Fri) Last opportunity to arrange Incomplete in a course, at last class.

March 17 (Fri, noon)University thesis, D.M.A. final project, Ph.D. dissertation, last day to submit.

March 17 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.)Late application deadline for Winter Quarter degree conferral ($50 fee).

March 17-24 (Fri-Fri) Law School examinations. See the full Stanford Law School academic calendar.

March 20-24 (Mon-Fri)End-Quarter examinations.

March 25 (Sat)Undergraduate housing move-out (if departing at end of Winter Quarter); see Residential & Dining Enterprises Calendar.

March 28 (Tue, 11:59 p.m.)Grades due.

April 6 (Thu) Conferral of degrees, Winter Quarter.

Spring Quarter 2016-17

February 12 (Sun) Axess opens for course enrollment.

March 24 (Fri) At-status enrollment deadline in order to receive stipend or financial aid refund within the first week of term.

April 1 (Sat)Undergraduate housing move-in date for Spring Quarter; see Residential & Dining Enterprises Calendar.

April 3 (Mon) First day of quarter; instruction begins for all students.

April 3 (Mon, 5:00 p.m.) Preliminary Study List deadline.Students must be "at status"; i.e., students must have a study list with sufficient units to meet requirements for their status, whether full-time, 8-9-10 units (graduate students only), or approved Undergraduate Special Registration Status or Graduate Special Registration Status. The late study list fee is $200.

April 3 (Mon, 5:00 p.m.) Deadline to submit Leave of Absence for full refund (see undergraduate leaves of absence and graduate leaves of absence). See See Tuition and Refund Schedule 2015-16 for a full refund schedule.

April 6 (Thurs) GSB classes begin

April 11 (Tues) GSB course add/drop deadline

April 14 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Application deadline for Spring Quarter degree conferral.

April 21 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Final Study List deadline, except GSB. Last day to add or drop a class; last day to adjust units on a variable-unit course. Last day for tuition reassessment for dropped courses or units. Students may withdraw from a course until the Course Withdrawal deadline and a "W" notation will appear on the transcript.

May 15 (Mon, 5:00 p.m.) Term withdrawal deadline; last day to submit Leave of Absence to withdraw from the University with a partial refund.

May 26 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Change of grading basis deadline, except GSB.

May 26 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Course withdrawal deadline, except GSB, Law, and M.D.

May 26 (Fri) Last day of Law classes. See the full Stanford Law School academic calendar.

May 29 (Mon) Memorial Day (holiday, no classes).

May 30- June 6 (Tue-Tue) Law School examinations. See the full Stanford Law School academic calendar.

June 1-8 (Fri-Thu) End-Quarter Period.

June 7 (Wed) Last day of classes.

June 7 (Wed) Last opportunity to arrange Incomplete in a course, at last class.

June 7 (Wed, noon) University thesis, D.M.A. final project, or Ph.D. dissertation, last day to submit.

June 7 (Wed, 5:00 p.m.) Late application deadline for Spring Quarter degree conferral ($50 fee).

June 8 (Thu) Day before finals, no classes.

June 9-14 (Fri-Wed) End-Quarter examinations.

June 14 (Wed, noon) Grades for GSB graduating students due.

June 15 (Thu, noon) Grades for graduating students due.

June 16 (Fri) Undergraduate housing move-out date (for all students not involved in Commencement); see Residential & Dining Enterprises Calendar.

June 17 (Sat) Senior Class Day.

June 17 (Sat) Baccalaureate Saturday.

June 17 (Sat) Law School Diploma Ceremony. See the full Stanford Law School academic calendar.

June 17 (Sat) Medical School Commencement Ceremony

June 18 (Sun) Commencement. Conferral of degrees, Spring Quarter.

June 19 (Mon) Undergraduate Housing move-out date (for graduates and others involved in Commencement with permission); Residential & Dining Enterprises Calendar.

June 20 (Tue, 11:59 p.m.) Grades for non-graduating students due.

Summer Quarter 2016-17

April 9 (Sun) Axess opens for course enrollment.

June 16 (Fri) At-status enrollment deadline in order to receive stipend or financial aid refund within the first week of term.

June 26 (Mon) First day of quarter; instruction begins.

June 26 (Mon, 5:00 p.m.) Preliminary Study List deadline.

June 26 (Mon) Deadline to submit Leave of Absence for full refund (see undergraduate leaves of absence and graduate leaves of absence). See Tuition and Refund Schedule 2015-16 for a full refund schedule.

July 4 (Tue) Independence Day (holiday, no classes).

July 7 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Final Study List deadline.Final day to add or drop a class; last day to adjust units on a variable-unit course. Last day for tuition reassessment for dropped courses or units. Students may withdraw from a course until the Course Withdrawal deadline and a 'W' notation will appear on the transcript.

July 28 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Term withdrawal deadline; last day to submit Leave of Absence to withdraw from the University with a partial refund.

August 4 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Change of grading basis deadline.

August 4 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Course withdrawal deadline.

August 4 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Application deadline for Summer Quarter degree conferral.

August 12-17 (Sat-Thu) End-Quarter Period.

August 17 (Thu) Last day of classes.

August 17 (Thu) Last opportunity to arrange Incomplete in a course, at last class.

August 18-19 (Fri-Sat) End-Quarter examinations.

August 22 (Tue, 11:59 p.m.) Grades due.

September 1 (Fri, noon) University thesis, D.M.A. final project, or Ph.D. dissertation, last day to submit.

September 1 (Fri, 5:00 p.m.) Late application deadline for Summer Quarter degree conferral ($50 fee).

September 28 (Thu) Conferral of degrees, Summer Quarter.

Academic Calendar 2017-18

First day of classes and last day of finals:

  • Autumn 2017-18: September 25 and December 15
  • Winter 2017-18: January 8 and March 23
  • Spring 2017-18: April 2 and June 13 (Commencement June 17)
  • Summer 2017-18: June 25 and August 18